Bringing focus back to my daily blog


I’ve been following the Postaday challenge like a homework assignment and it’s really done nothing more than give me 24 touchy-feely posts about random topics concerning the inner workings of my thoughts on vague ideas. Yesterday I waited hours to see what the next topic would be only to be  a little let down again. The topics aren’t bad, but they don’t seem to fit either.

The topic that brought this call to action: What’s your idea for a perfect Sunday? Reading, writing or taking pictures. The follow up question: How would it differ from a typical Sunday? It doesn’t. That’s what I did. I did that Saturday as well. I also spent too much time trying to find something to write about because the topic didn’t hit home for me.

Let’s get Dr. Phil on this situation:

Dr. Phil: Why are you writing about topics that don’t hit home for you? You should be writing on topics that matter to you instead of waiting for someone else to come up with topics.
Me: Well, it was easier to write about the topic than to come up with my own.
Dr. Phil: Has it been easier?
Me: Not really.
Dr. Phil: You’re cheating yourself out of your own ideas. How does that make you feel?
Me: Dirty.
Dr. Phil: You need to get focused and take charge of your blog.
Me: People seem to like what I’m writing, though.
Dr. Phil: Do you afraid people might not like your ideas? Maybe they like the way you write.

Thanks, Dr. Phil.

The way the blog topics are going currently feels very unwieldy and chaotic. I cannot keep going as is for another 340+ days. Most folks seem to be enjoying the topics, but I know me and I have certain needs as a writer and editor:

  1. I need coffee.
  2. I need the vision.
  3. I need an editorial policy.
  4. I need cohesion.
  5. I need a focus.
  6. I need my next five stories right now in case something falls through.

In a series of posts this week I’ll show how all those work together to keep you on track. Yes, even the coffee.

3 Comments

Filed under postaday2011, Random Thoughts, Writing

3 responses to “Bringing focus back to my daily blog

  1. I know what you mean. My blog doesn’t lend itself to following the daily topics and I really had no intention of using them. I have used some of them because they fit otherwise I write using my own ideas.
    I’m interested in seeing how the week unfolds, including the coffee! 🙂

  2. shybrown

    This was refreshing. I’m only doing post a week, but I have been sitting at my comp waiting to see what the new topic will be (everyday). I’ve also been posting more than once a week *shrugs*. I use them when the spirit moves me, and the rest of the time I take a rain check.

    Oh, and this is my first time checking out your blog but I think Dr. Phil is right: you do have a nice writing style.

  3. Pingback: Trying to Find Topic Suggestions « Things in life I find annoying

Leave a Reply

