And the award for single best accomplishment…


My best accomplishment for 2010, huh? This is the topic? Fine. I’ll play your game…this time. *shakes fist menacingly*

I know I have the option to skip the topic, but I think I like struggling to find something to talk about. In this case, I need to pick my best accomplishment when I have a hard time remembering what I do in a week and really not impressed by anything I do. I’m not saying others are easily impressed, I’m just not out there curing cancer. I’m a butterfly flapping its wings watching a hurricane form elsewhere. For me, to have accomplished something means to have done something I didn’t know I could do.

My single greatest flap of last year was taking two creative writing classes. I’ve spent the last eight years writing news and wasn’t sure if I could write something that wasn’t true and make it believable. Is the character interesting? Do they talk like a person would talk? Would someone want to read this and maybe even like it?

It was half the kick in the pants I needed to get back into writing. I really liked getting feedback on my short fiction and it motivated me to want to do more with my writing. Not all the stories were well received. Well, that’s a lie. One story wasn’t.  The rest were liked. Even the one that wasn’t liked was well liked after some edits. I also walked out with a rather creepy villain.

I kinda blew off the last half of 2010 in regard to my writing. This year I’m actually going to do something with what I learned. Time’s a wastin’ and it’s time to lean forward.

Leave a comment

Filed under postaday2011, Writing, Writing Prompts

Leave a Reply

