So … this is Georgia


I left my apartment of five years in Alexandria, Va., at just after 9 p.m. June 22. I made pretty good time to Emporia, Va. where I spent the night with a very freaked out cat. I didn’t really want to leave home, but the Air Force told me I had to go.

I left Virginia the next morning and made decent time to Warner Robins, Ga. I got in just before the housing office closed and moved in to my new home for the next two years. Not a bad place. Two bedrooms and a garage. Seeing as how I live alone now, this means I have an office (gaming room.)

It’s been a few days and I still don’t have my furniture. I’ve basically been camping out in my bedroom in a sleeping bag. I bought a pillow a few days ago, but the floor is still rough on my back. Next time I move I’m bringing a few movies or something. I’m pretty much just reading and watching anything on my computer.

I’m also more reliant on the internet than I thought. It’s fun to say I’m blogging at an internet cafe, but damn I’d rather be sitting on my couch. My coffee is better. I also can’t just download something to watch or hulu something. This internet connection speed makes me miss the 56K modem.

What I really should be doing is writing. I have a fiction writing class starting in a week and my new job requires a heck of a lot more writing than my last one. I’m just not inspired right now. The ironic thing is, is I have the perfect quiet environment to write and I can’t concentrate because I don’t have any distractions.

“A writer is somebody for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.” 
— Thomas Mann, Essays of Three Decades, 1947

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

